Early Years

Early Years

Admission Enquiries


Holden Park combines care and education for young children by providing a safe and stimulating environment where children learn through play. Holden Park offers a full British Curriculum: The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) in the Pre-school. The EYFS is a play-based curriculum which has been drawn on long term researches and studies into early childhood development. Research into early childhood, evidences that there are seven prime areas of learning and development crucial for shaping educational programmes in the early years (12months to 5years) and enhancing children’s future outcomes. All 7 prime areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. The 7 areas of development are then divided into the prime areas of development and specific areas of development.


  1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development: This enables children to develop self-awareness and self-confidence, manage their behaviour and feelings, differentiate what is right from what is wrong, socialize and form meaningful friendships and relationships with   both adults and peers.
  2. Communication and Language: Children are given the opportunities to develop their skills of attention, listening speaking and understanding. This is done by providing a child centered environment and a range of activities which support vocabulary extension.
  3. Physical Development: This involves moving and handling (i) Children develop a range of fine and gross motor skills, co-ordination, control and movement, through the provision of opportunities for children to be active and interactive. (ii) Health and self-care, children are taught to understand the importance of being physically active and healthy eating habits.
  4. Literacy: Children are encouraged to begin to link sounds and letters taking the first steps in learning how to read and write. Reading opportunities are given through a wide Variety of physical books and E-books. Adult initiated and free writing opportunities are given to children using both traditional writing resources and digital interactive boards.
  5. Mathematical Development: Children are provided with an enabling environment which enable them to count; recognize numbers and use number; make simple calculations; identify shapes, have an understanding of space and time; begin to compare and contrast measurements of length, weight and capacity.
  6. Understanding the World: Children are given the opportunity to make sense of the physical world, people, places, technology and the environment through exploration, observation, discussion and investigation.
  7. Expressive arts and design: Children are given the opportunity to explore and play with a range of digital materials and media. Children are encouraged to role play, identify their interest and develop their own ideas through art music and drama.
Select the fields to be shown. Others will be hidden. Drag and drop to rearrange the order.
  • Image
  • SKU
  • Rating
  • Price
  • Stock
  • Availability
  • Add to cart
  • Description
  • Content
  • Weight
  • Dimensions
  • Additional information
Click outside to hide the comparison bar